How I use #wordpress – #MarsEdit

Workflow 

Why?

WordPress do a great job of giving you choices on how to create content for your blog or webpage with their browser support and dedicated mobile applications. However I have often found the need to create posts for my web pages with content such as links or images that lend themselves more suited to working from my macbook or iMac.

MarsEdit

For this purpose I use the excellent app, “MarsEdit” that can be found on the AppStore or direct from the developer, RedSweater.

The developer’s webpage explains it all but in summary this application provides you with the following key functions:

  • Rich and HTML Text Editing
  • Compatible (WordPress, Blogger, Tumblr, TypePad, Movable Type..)
  • Post Previews
  • Ability to use other editors (BBEdit, TextMate, WriteRoom, TextWrangler…)
  • Media integration (Photos, Lightroom, Flickr…)
  • Easy File Uploads
  • “Re-Blog It” bookmarklet
  • Offline creation

Follow Up

I now run an iPad Pro in addition to my OSX hardware and I am currently refining my blog workflow via the WordPress iOS app. Look for further posts on this topic.

Leave a Reply

