My top 10 mac keyboard shortcuts

Why?

Apple have invested in technologies for us to use touch and gestures to control the various devices we have both in the OS and iOS worlds. I subscribe to them all, using an Apple Magic Trackpad with my iMac and the in-built touchpad in my MacBook Pro. I recommend them both as intuitive ways to navigate your display(s) at speed. Touch on Apple’s mobile devices is what makes them so easy to use for me. Now Apple’s Force Touch on their laptops will bring the added tactility of pressure sensitivity.

However there is still a major place in my workflows for the keyboard as irrespective of the power of touch and the ever improving voice activated “Siri” at some point we invariably need to enter text. I was fully on board with utilizing the hardware that Apple provides until I went deeper in to paperless and productivity workflows.

Keyboard shortcuts are a key part of my workflow now and while I don’t profess to being an expert, the speed I can move around multiple applications and often multiple screens, far outstrips the efficiency of moving my hand to a trackpad or mouse.

What I have struggled with is finding one place to keep this information which I haven’t committed to “muscle memory.” I intend to use my own post as this single location aide memoire and if that works for you too, then we all win!

My top 10 keyboard shortcuts:

1. Command ccopies selection to keyboard

This also works for file or folder names which is a fast way of formatting multiple files without processing batch edit tools.

2. Command vpastes from keyboard

As above, the speed of copy & paste without taking you hands off the keyboard simply Gets Things Done.

3. Alt Command v – moves a copied file or folder

without the Alt key the file will be duplicated

4. Command wcloses application or browser window

this only closes the window, not the application, leaving in ready for further use

3. Command q quits application

quick way to clear multiple apps

6. Command spacebarlaunches spotlight

Apple’s built in search tool for files, folders, emails, messages and proves a great application launcher – ever improving

7. Command nopens new_

_window, creates a new file in an application or generates a new email, calendar appointment or message

8. Command topens a new tab in your browser

also works in Finder which is powerful when using keyboard strokes for file management

9. Command rrefreshes browser window

useful for wordpress web based blogging!

10. Command l moves cursor to search window in browser

ready for typing a search

Tip

Don’t forget fn delete for “forward delete,” the opposite of backspace! That one is essential for any migrating Windows user…

2 responses to “My top 10 mac keyboard shortcuts

Leave a Reply

